John Mayer(NOT MYSELF)

Posted: October 9, 2008 in Religious, soft/Alternative

Sure John Mayer has dozens of fantastic songs but right now I think this one speaks to me the most. I am, right now, struggling to be more with Christ and trying my hardest to be more Godly. I was at church last night and my pastor told us, if you don’t give everything up, you cannot be one with Christ. Well he brought up “Would you give up a scholarship to college just to go on a mission to help children in Africa?” I thought sure I would, but then he brought up friends and family and I just stopped, I thought, “Woah!” That would be hard. I don’t know if I could ever give up my family, but when push comes to shove I’ll have to choose. On my way home a friend told me that a while ago that same pastor told him that eventually you won’t be able to trust those people you care most about. I got really overwhelmed and I listen to this song all the time.. Just to help my think about where I want to be..

JOHN MAYER

NOT MYSELF LYRICS:

Suppose I said
I am on my, best behavior
there are times
I lose my worried mind 

Chorus:

Would you want me, when I’m not myself?
Wait it out while I am someone else? 

Suppose I said
Colors change for no good reason
words will go
From poetry to prose

Chorus:

Would you want me, when I’m not myself?
Wait it out while I am someone else? 

And I, in time, will come around
I always do, for you 

[instrumentals]

Suppose I said
You’re my saving grace?

[chorus]

My grace
My self
My myself and I…
When I’m someone else
When I’m someone else
When I’m someone else
When I’m not myself
Myself
Myself

Comments
  1. Barb says:

    So are he and Jennifer Aniston an item, or what? Will they ever decide?

Leave a Reply

